The 6th CSIAM Su Buchin Prize awarded

release: 2016/08/22 15:41

Recipients: Ya-xiang Yuan (second left), Long'an Ying (second right)

The 6th CSIAM Su Buchin Prize is awarded at the opening ceremony of CSIAM 14th annual meeting on August 12. The recipients are Long'an Ying (Peking University) and Ya-xiang Yuan (Academy of Mathematics and Systems Science, Chinese Academy of Sciences). Lei Guo (CSIAM president) and Yong Xie (vice-chair of the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress in Hunan) present the prizes.

Long'an Ying began working in Peking University in 1960 after graduating from its Department of Mathematics and Mechanics, mainly engaged in the research of partial differential equation and its numerical analysis. He has made achievements in infinite element method, the mathematical theory of vortex method, and hyperbolic conservation equations.

Ya-xiang Yuan obtained his Ph.D. at University of Cambridge in 1986. He is one of the youngest Academicians of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (2011). He is a winner of the National Natural Science Award of China (Second Grade), the TWAS (The World Academy of Sciences) Prize in Mathematics, and the Feng Kang Prize. He is also a SIAM Fellow (2011), an AMS Fellow (2012), a TWAS Fellow (2014), and a Corresponding Member of Brazilian Academy of Sciences (2014). Besides, Ya-xiang Yuan was elected president of the Chinese Mathematical Society in 2015, and vice president of the China Association for Science and Technology in 2016.

Launched by CSIAM in October 2003, CSIAM Su Buchin Prize, the top prize for applied mathematics in China, is awarded to industrial and applied mathematicians who has made distinguished contributions to the application of mathematics in economy, technology and social development.

(By CSIAM Office)

Upper One Next One